Current Location:homepage  ABOUT US  Overview

The mission of the School of Earth Sciences (SES) is to understand and predict the behavior of the Earth system, including the lithosphere, atmosphere, hydrosphere, cryosphere and biosphere, and its interaction with human activities at local to global scales. We also aim to educate the next generation of Earth scientists and provide decision-relevant insights that benefit the society.

The history of SES can be traced back to 1936 when the prominent Chinese meteorologist, geographer, and educator Chu Kochen, who was also the former president of Zhejiang University (ZJU), founded the Department of History and Geography. After more than 80 years of development, Earth Sciences in ZJU have grown into a highly interdisciplinary academic program.

SES encompasses a broad range of Earth science disciplines. SES currently has four departments, i.e. Geology, Geography, Atmospheric Sciences, and Geo-information Sciences and Technology, offering five undergraduate programs and eight post-graduate student programs. SES also houses Provincial Key Laboratory of Resources and Environment and Geographic Information System, and Research Centre for Structures in Oil and Gas Bearing Basins (Ministry of Education). Six research institutes are set in SES, i.e. Geology and Geophysics, Space Information and Technique, Geographic Information Science, Urban and Reginal Development, Environment and Biogeochemistry, and Climate and Weather Information and Forecast.

Currently, SES has a total of about 90 staff members, including 77 full time faculty members. Our student body includes about 250 undergraduate students and about 250 graduate students. We strive to solve the global challenges of climate and environmental change, human interactions with the Earth, and sustainable development.

  • Add: No. 6 Teaching Building, Yuquan Campus, Zhejiang University,
                38 Zheda Road, Hangzhou, P.R.China
  • Tel: +86-571-87952875
  • Fax: +86-571-87952875
  • Email: danleishao@zju.edu.cn
Copyright @ 2018 School of Earth Sciences , Zhejiang University      Powered by : chingo     Login